This is a poem that I wrote many years ago now, though I still find comfort in it today.

May you find what you need.

 

I Found Myself in the Garden

 

I found myself in the garden today;

Planting flowers in new places 

Where old dirt had been dug up

Sunflowers; shining light on the shadows of lost memories

Roses; pungent over losses

Daisies; pushing through cobwebs of sadness

And lavender; taking the place of bad habits.

 

I found myself in the garden today;

Weeding out the hatred

Fertilizing the ground with love

Watering my garden with tranquility 

While the sun shone above.

 

I filled the holes with tenderness 

And built a wall of trust

The peonies bloomed with peace 

And the lilies were full of laughter 

The wildflowers brimmed with wonder

And I stood watching with rapture. 

 

I found myself in garden today;

And I vowed to tend it with care 

Even through the seasons

With all their wear and tear.

 

I vowed to water 

All the plants

Every single day 

To trim the leaves and prune the blossoms 

No matter what comes my way.

 

To remember the art of letting go

and

That even after the harshest of storms

Or the coldest of winters

 

A flower can once again grow.

 

~Franchesca Stimming (written 2018)

10 thoughts on “I Found Myself in the Garden”

  1. This poem is very lovely – and life-affirming. I loved the lilies full of laughter and the wildflowers brimmed with wonder. And love the work in the garden being likened to weeding out or encouraging of our own particular traits. My favourite of yours so far.

    1. Thank you! I find the garden a great metaphor for many things and a place where I so often find solace.

    1. Thank you 🙂 For now it is an imagined garden, though inspired by real gardens I’ve encountered. Hopefully soon I will have a garden of my own to tend!

  2. There is no place like the garden for tuning into what matters and letting go of what doesn’t. I especially loved “…lavender; taking the place of bad habits..” This shines with a clear beauty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *