Early morning footsteps in the grass

Soft 

Slow 

Silent

 

Dew drops. 

A memory.

A moment. 

 

Birds calling the world to 

Wake up!

 

Here, 

In the space just after sleep 

When dreams still linger,

There is a blurring 

A widening 

A merging

 

This is earth time.

This is soul time. 

 

I move in time to the flowers opening 

To the clouds drifting slowly past 

 

I move in time with the shadows that slip silently over the mountain 

 

This is not a time that can be measured by the clock 

Rather it is measured in moments 

 

Quiet moments 

Rooted in the earth 

Where the bees find their way to the lavender 

And 

The ducks come to feed…

We are connected, the bees and the ducks and I

 

Just as I am a part of the stream that flows by 

And the swallows hunting for a place to nest

 

I too am looking for a place to rest

A place to belong 

A land that I will tend that will tend to me

A place where I can be free 

To roam far and wide

Where I don’t feel I have to hide

 

Where the forest know my name 

And I know each tree therein 

Where I know the bird calls 

And frog song 

And the moments spent in communion with the earth are long

 

This is what I yearn for 

As I place my bare feet gently on the earth

In the whisper of early morning moments 

 

I long for the 

Soft 

Slow 

And 

Silent 

 

For 

Earth time. 

For 

Soul time. 

 

~Franchesca Stimming

 

Inspired by: https://earthweal.com/2022/10/17/earthweal-weekly-challenge-enactivism-and-the-poetry-of-becoming/

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Earth Time”

  1. “This is earth time. This is soul time.” And you describe it so beautifully the reader feels she is there, in that morning stillness, just being with the earth. Beautiful.

  2. So Beautiful Frankie – and such a mystical time of day. Love the “land that I will tend that will tend to me” – the perfect crux of relationship with place. (Hoping to see you in Wilderness one of these days xx)

  3. Very beautiful indeed, the images and their sense of connection here–with each other, the reader and the speaker.

  4. Earth time…soul time…you have expressed their beauty, their spirit so well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *