Inspired by earthweal’s challenge: Collateral Beauty https://earthweal.com/2021/10/04/earthweal-weekly-challenge-collateral-beauty/

 

Sun drenched sky 

Last sweet rays slowly sinking behind the hill 

 

Purple clouds rolling in

Smell of rain arriving

 

Damp earth under bare feet 

 

All breathed in 

One deep breath 

 

An instant 

A moment 

Already gone… 

As I run to the barn for another bottle of milk 

….to make a cup of  nighttime tea

 

Is this was it means to belong? 

 

To know the earth is holding me 

To feel the sweet air in my lungs 

To feel nestled in the changing of the seasons 

To notice winter lives also in me 

 

That I too must slow down…

 

What does it mean to belong to the land? 

 

What do such brief fleeting moments of awe have to teach us? 

 

The quiet rustle of leaves 

Blow through the open kitchen window

 

The soft song of a nighttime bird wafts in on the breeze 

The stars twinkle 

And for a fleeting moment the world is at ease 

 

As I slowly sip my nighttime tea    

 

~Franchesca Stimming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *