October 2017

 

My heart is broken

I feel as though I’ve been cheated by life

You left, and just in one night.

 

I held my hand out, open

And you let go.

 

I thought if I built a wall high enough 

or 

A fortress strong enough 

That nothing would get though;

But you knocked, and I let you in. 

 

Then suddenly from the inside out

You started tearing it all down.

You peeled apart all the layers

Explored every nook

Every cranny 

 

You took my hand and led me to place in my own mind 

That even I had never been.

You led me all the way to my heart…

And then you let go.

 

I reached out

But you were no longer there.

What was I to do without you?

I wasn’t ready

My heart flicked 

Wanting to whisper my truths 

 

But I wanted to ask you what you thought…

 

But you are gone now.

I want to tell you

That it will be okay

 

I want to take your hand 

To share your load

To bear the weight 

That you took from me

To tell you 

That I can see

 

My layers have been shed

And all that was once said 

Has been washed away.

 

I woke up today 

Created anew

Yet you…

 

You didn’t wake up at all.

I cant call 

Because you won’t answer 

 

I wish so much

That I could share with you 

The new me 

That has arisen 

 

Because maybe you to

Could have found a new you;

 

But all I have is the 

Imprint on my soul

That you have left behind

And all I can do 

Is take that and run.

 

~Franchesca Stimming

 

This is an older piece that I wrote about four years ago now almost to the day. October 2017 was filled with loss for me, and in a way this piece of writing is as much for those who I love who passed over that year as it is for myself. When I started this little blog, I thought I would post only new thoughts, but this somehow still holds something special to me.

 

Thank you for the prompt: Approaching Samhain from earthweal

https://earthweal.com/2021/10/25/earthweal-weekly-challenge-approaching-samhain/

11 thoughts on ““Grief and love are sisters, woven together from the beginning” ~Francis Weller”

  1. You write from a place that resonates with me. Such a huge loss changes us, and I like the lines that speak of this and how you have grown – “the new me that has arisen”. So powerful.

    1. Thank you, I feel fortunate that I have been able to find the gifts in the hardship.

  2. This poem is so full of grief. All those thing we wish we could say to our lost, all those things we wish we could share. The brief, fragmented lines add to the feel of loss for me. Thank you for sharing.

  3. This is so deeply heart-rending and moving! I am sorry for your loss. I am glad to hear a new you has arisen out of the pain of loss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *