Hot tea on chapped lips

Steam rising in the cool crisp air of just barely dawn

 

Quietly breathing in the cold that stings my nose

Reminding me

I’m alive!

 

Quietly crumpling paper

To start the fire

To warm my bones

 

Bones

Made of earth

Made of stars

Made of memories

 

Scraped knees

Stormy seas

and tall trees

Are what made me

 

Mountains

And

Rivers

And

Poetry

Sustain me

 

Breathing in the scent of ginger and vanilla

Patiently awaiting

The gifts of this new day

 

~Franchesca Stimming

3 thoughts on “Morning Moments”

  1. This is a poem brimming with delights……..the early morning, the fire, the tea, and all the things that sustain you……just beautiful. A real pleasure to read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *