Just two days ago I was was bubbling over with a feeling of abundance 

Isn’t it funny how those things shift?

 

It’s harder now, to reach back to that time 

To find the energy to uplift 

I know it is there 

The sensation lingers in my body 

Isn’t it funny remembering a feeling but not actually feeling it?

What is the difference?

 

Today I feel heavy and slow 

Like an ant stuck in honey 

Like I have forgotten all that I know

 

Yet, somehow, I can reach into a small crevice of myself 

And find that

I love the patterns of frost on my window when I wake in the dark of early morning 

I love that my breath fogs 

And the cold stings my nose 

 

I shiver awake and 

Love the cup of tea I hold in my hands 

The birds flitting to and fro 

Remind me of the gratitude that sometimes gets buried

Like earth under the snow

 

 

~Franchesca Stimming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *